This web site is an initiative advanced by the following professors and researchers: Dr. Lucie Brosseau, Ms. Lynn Casimiro, Dr. Claire-Jehanne Dubouloz, Dr. Mary Egan, Dr. Andrée Durieux Smith, Dr. Alice Eriks-Brophy, Dr. Ian Graham and Ms. Karen Luker.

Many collaborators have contributed to this web site, as well as to the research and evaluation of the EBCPGs.

This initiative is funded by the Centre for University Teaching of University of Ottawa and by le Centre national de formation en santé.

 

Submit

 

Welcome to the School of Rehabilitation Sciences’ Evidence-based Practice Web Site.

Evidence-based Practice (EBP) establishes a professional practice that is based on theoretical knowledge and consists of using both the best scientific evidence available for clinical decision making and standardized tools used in measuring the services provided (CPA 1995).

An Evidence-based Clinical Practice Guideline (EBCPG) is systematically developed with the goal of guiding clinicians’ decisions concerning the appropriate health care to be provided in specific circumstances. In general, EBCPGs are defined as the best EBP that results in the most effective intervention. The guidelines expose both the benefits and risks associated with the recommended approach.

This web site contains a database of web-based EBCPGs from recent scientific publications. This database is a teaching and reference tool that will allow students and rehabilitation specialists (occupational therapists, physiotherapists, audiologists, physiatrists, speech and language pathologists, etc.) alike to make informed decisions in choosing an effective intervention for their client.

The quality of all the EBCPGs available in the database has been evaluated through the validated assessment tool, AGREE: “Appraisal of Guidelines for Research and Evaluation” (www.agreecollaboration.org). These recommendations were systematically selected through a rigorous methodology.

This project is the first phase of a larger project. Currently, the database contains only the EBCPGs available online. The addition of EBCPGs published in scientific journals, as well as by professional associations and other recognized organizations, is also planned. This web site will therefore be updated periodically.

Home | Search | Methodology | Collaborators | Français

 

Copyright © 2005 Université d'Ottawa,All rights reserved.

Ce site est une initiative des professeur(e)s et chercheur(e)s: Dre Lucie Brosseau, Dr Ian Graham, Ms Lynn Casimiro, Dre Mary Egan, Dre Claire-Jehanne Dubouloz, Dre Andrée Durieux-Smith, Dre Alice Eriks-Brophy, Ms Karen Luker.

De nombreux collaborateurs et collaboratrices ont également contribué à l’élaboration de ce site ainsi qu’à l’évaluation et à la recherche des recommandations cliniques.

Cette initiative est subventionnée par le Centre de pédagogie universitaire de l’Université d’Ottawa et par le Centre national de formation en santé.

 

Submit

 

 

Bienvenue au site de la pratique fondée sur les faits scientifiques de la réadaptation.

La pratique fondée sur des faits scientifiques (PFFS) se définit comme l’exercice de la profession, fondé sur un savoir théorique, et qui consiste à utiliser les meilleures preuves scientifiques disponibles pour la prise de décision clinique, ainsi que des outils normalisés pour mesurer le service prodigué (ACP 1995).

Une recommandation clinique est émise systématiquement dans le but de guider les cliniciens à prendre des décisions concernant les soins de santé appropriés à prodiguer dans des circonstances spécifiques. Elle est généralement définie comme étant la meilleure PFFS portant sur les traitements les plus efficaces. Finalement, elle expose les bienfaits et les risques de l’approche recommandée.

Ce site renferme un répertoire de recommandations cliniques accessibles par internet, découlant d’écrits scientifiques récents, publiées dans internet. Ce répertoire est un outil pédagogique ainsi qu'un outil de référence qui permettra aux étudiant(e)s des sciences de la réadaptation ainsi qu’aux spécialistes de la réadaptation (ergothérapeutes, physiothérapeutes, audiologistes, orthophonistes, physiatres, etc.) de prendre des décisions éclairées dans le choix d’une intervention efficace pour leur client.

Ce répertoire contient un ensemble de recommandations cliniques dont la qualité est évaluée selon un instrument de mesure validé nommé AGREE : « Appraisal of Guidelines for Research and Evaluation ». (www.agreecollaboration.org). Ces recommandations cliniques ont été sélectionnées systématiquement selon une méthodologie rigoureuse.

Ce projet constitue la phase I d’un vaste projet. Ce répertoire ne contient pour l’instant que des recommandations cliniques déjà existantes sur le réseau internet. La mise à jour de ce site sera effectuée périodiquement.

Accueil | Recherche | Methodologie | Collaborateurs | English

 

Copyright © 2005 Université d'Ottawa,Tous droits réservés.